Feature Rhiana – Kasey and Co

Haven’t heard of Kasey and Co?…then you definitely need to head over to Facebook right now and start following. Rhiana is an amazing writer and I love every single one of her blog posts, I swear they will have you in fits of laughter. Although she has you laughing your tits off, she also addresses those things most of us don’t like to talk about, and she addresses so pretty important topics. Here are my favourite 3 blog posts she has written lately…

  1. Things to Stop Giving a F*** About in Your Mid Twenties
  2. Self Timers and Pretending to be Hotter Than I Actually Am
  3. Emotional Abuse and What I Learned

See what she has to say below…

1

Tell us a little bit more about your blog? 

I run a blog called Kasey and Co, and to sum it up it’s a place where I talk about all the things you might be too awkward to bring up on your own! I found that when I read most blogs, I got so sick of promotional posts and just being shown the perfect parts of people lives, so I wanted to have a space where people could feel NORMAL, have a laugh at my misfortunes (lol), and could read about important topics in a more interesting way.
I talk a lot about relationships/dating, mental health, confidence and advice, and I tell a bunch of stories!
What is your favourite inspirational quote?
It’s a quote from Frida Kahlo, my favourite painter. It’s one of those ones I remember when I feel a bit like I’m just floating through life, or feeling like I’m in a rut on my own. No one is as weird as they think!

“I used to think I was the strangest person in the world but then I thought there are so many people in the world, there must be someone just like me who feels bizarre and flawed in the same ways I do. I would imagine her, and imagine that she must be out there thinking of me too. Well, I hope that if you are out there and read this and know that, yes, it’s true I’m here, and I’m just as strange as you.”

If you could have dinner with any 3 people who would they be and why? 
Stevie Nicks – Fleetwood Mac is my all time favourite band, and I just think she’d spin some great yarns about the 70s.
Chrissy Teigen – because she def cook something BOMB, and then she’d just entertain me all night roasting people on twitter.
Alice Cooper – I think he is hilariously awesome.
What are you currently reading? 
I’m currently rereading Milk & Honey by Rupi Kaur. It’s a book of poetry separated into 4 chapters, and each chapter deals with a different type of pain. Would highly recommend it to all women as essential reading – especially if you’ve had struggles with abuse in both relationships and family.
2
Favourite tune? 
Oh man, it’s so hard for me to pick just one! I’m going to cheat a wee bit sorry Jess, and choose one playlist! I’ve been blasting the Guardians of the Galaxy 1&2 soundtrack – my coworkers can attest to how often I’m scream-singing “DO YOU LIKE PINA COLADAAAAAAAAAAAS.. AND GETTING CAUGHT IN THE RAIN”.
Favourite way to workout? 
Pilates! Particularly Reformer Pilates. It’s just about the only form of exercise I thoroughly enjoy. I go to Tiaki Pilates in Wellington, and I try to go 3 times a week.
Why I love it:
1. You get to lie down
2. There are no mirrors anywhere!
3. Majority of the people in my class are old, so no competitive aspect!
4. No need to worry about awkward farts like in Yoga
Number one throw together meal? 
When I’m being shit at life… Sourdough, dips & Balsamic Vinegar. BUT when I’m being good (normally), it’s Char Sui Beef Bowls. 
Cook a bunch of rice (white or brown), then pan fry cubed beef in Char Sui sauce and Siricaha Hot Sauce, then steam or fry a whole bunch of green veggies – I usually choose Broccoli, Bok Choy, Beans, and Courgette. Then layer the rice in a bowl, the plop all the rest on top in segments.
Bonus if you have pre cooked rice, then it’s even faster! Yas.
When you find yourself lacking motivation, what helps you to get going again? 
Honestly, it’s a combination of two things. I let myself have a massive whinge, maybe a cry if I need it – get all the negative emotions out, and feel sorry for myself for a bit. Once that’s done, I need some tough love. I usually message my best friend and she will tell me to get the eff off my butt and keep pushing! I think it’s really important to have people around you that will push you when they know you need one – team work people!
Advice for making 2017 your best year yet? 
I think 2017 should be the year where you should give less fucks. No matter your age or where you are in life, it’s a huge drain on your self esteem and confidence if you’re concerned with the perception of yourself to others.
A really great way to do that is to work out your own priorities, what matters most to YOU, what makes you personally happy, and what you want your life to be like. I always ask myself, why does this matter? Does this affect me in any real way? And if I can’t give myself a great answer, I try to give less fucks about it.
For example, you are feeling down because you saw your shitty ex with a better looking new partner. Why does this matter? It doesn’t, you’re not in that persons life anymore. Does this affect you in any real way? No, it might make you feel a it sad, but it has no concrete affect on anything you do. So you move on, and care less!
Also, definitely try to express your happiness and love more! We are conditioned to downplay compliments (What, this old thing?!) but I feel so much happier when I give really authentic compliments. Tell people you love them, make a point to compliment staff if they’ve gone above & beyond to help you, tell your partner that they have the best smile you’ve seen in your goddamn LIFE.
It makes a difference to them, and you’ll feel happier too, I guarantee it.
Leave a Reply

